Welcome to Brick House, a beautiful country guest house with a rich history.
Situated on the edge of the peaceful village of Redwick, it's the perfect location for a relaxing break.
Rooms & Rates
Our rooms are warm, friendly and welcoming to make you truly feel at home.
Our accommodation is spacious: Four double/twin bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, two single bedrooms, and even a 'family room' that can sleep up to four people. All are tastefully furnished with full central heating throughout.
Our family room provides a little extra space for guests staying with children. The room features a super kingsize double bed and two single beds to accommodate two adults and two children plus a cot.
All of our rooms include the following facilities:
* ensuite bath and shower
* Complimentary toiletries
* Remote control television
* Hair dryer, trouser press
* Tea and coffee are available on request
Brick house's rich history dates back as far as the fourteenth century
Brick House has a long and interesting history. The earliest Church records show that there has been a house on this site since 1450, it was then called Whitehall Farm. Parts of the original farmhouse still show but the main Georgian facade was built around 1795.
The house was then owned by William Phillips, who was a member of Parliament and a prominent land owner. He also built the Whitson Court in the next village. Whilst building Whitson Court, William Philips, built the Brick House ready for his son's return to Britain from the American Colonies. However the son (also named William) never returned. The ship carrying him home was wrecked in a storm before reaching Britain and William was drowned.
Brick House remained in the Phillips family until 1901, when it was sold to Sir William James Thomas, a coalmine owner from Cardiff and it became part of his vast estate. The present owners, Mr and Mrs Charles Park first became tenants of the farm in 1947 and eventually purchased the property, in 1972, from the executors of Sir William James Thomas.